Maxine Smith Fellows Program


The Maxine Smith Fellows program is a professional development opportunity for faculty, staff, and administrators at TBR colleges and Tennessee Locally Governed Universities.  The Maxine Smith Fellows program goal is to increase diversity, particularly with regards to race and ethnicity, in the faculty and senior leadership ranks in Tennessee public higher education. The program is cohort-based and provides professional development and training, mentoring, and collaborative-based project opportunities.

The program is named for Maxine A. Smith, a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents from 1994 – 2006. Ms. Smith was instrumental in the desegregation of public schools in the city of Memphis and worked tirelessly to ensure equal access to educational opportunities at all levels. Her connection with TBR spanned from denial of her application to matriculate at Memphis State University to her devotion to equity and student success during her 12 years as a regent.

The program timing and cohort composition may be based on specific program, project, or research needs. Participants are selected from individuals who have been nominated by their institutional presidents. 


2021-2022 Maxine Smith Fellows

Antija Allen, Pellissippi State Community College

Charria Campbell, Tennessee Tech University

Sean Chism, Tennessee Board of Regents System Office

Quincy Jenkins, Chattanooga State Community College

Kiana Johnson, East Tennessee State University

Brelinda Johnson, Middle Tennessee State University

Deidre’ Kyle, Walters State Community College

Erica Lee, Motlow State Community College

Tongai Maodzwa, Northeast State Community College

Adrian Montague, Jackson State Community College

Arlene Nicholas-Phillips, Tennessee State University

Barbara Scales, Motlow State Community College

Cheryl Seay, Tennessee State University

Tanya Shephard, Roane State Community College

Eric Stokes, University of Memphis

LaNeeca Williams, Austin Peay State University

Johnny Wyatt, Nashville State Community College