The College System of Tennessee honored the outstanding students, faculty and staff members, two colleges of the year and the philanthropists, volunteers and partners who support them in the system’s third annual Statewide Outstanding Achievement Recognition (SOAR) Awards ceremony today.

The six individual SOAR Award winners are from Chattanooga State, Southwest Tennessee and Walters State Community Colleges and the Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology at Oneida, Pulaski and Shelbyville.

Columbia State Community College and TCAT Shelbyville were named the Community and Technical Colleges of the Year respectively.  

The individual SOAR Award winners for 2020-21 are:

Students of the Year

  • Community College: Deborah Carol Hale, a pre-K education major, Chattanooga State Community College.
  • Technical College: Brian Shanley, a collision repair major, TCAT Oneida-Huntsville.

Faculty Members of the Year

  • Community College: Candace Justice, director of instructional design and associate professor of English, Walters State Community College.
  • Technical College: Jennifer Wright, technology foundations instructor, TCAT Shelbyville.

Staff Members of the Year

  • Community College: L. Angela Webb, director of police services and public safety at Southwest Tennessee Community College.
  • Technical College: Rob Alford, special industry training coordinator, TCAT Pulaski.



SOAR would not be possible without support from amazing partners to TBR—The College System of Tennessee which include:

Event Sponsors
The Ayers Foundation
BlueCross BlueShield Tennessee

Education Champion 
AT&T Tennessee
Denark Construction

College Champion 
First Horizon
Follett Higher Education Group
Orcutt Winslow

Friends of TBR 
Armistead Group
BarberMcMurry Architects
Bill and Pam Summons
Milek Media