Board Meets May 4 to Consider New TTU President, Criteria for Roane State Search

The Tennessee Board of Regents will conduct a meeting via telephone beginning at 10:30 a.m. CDT Friday, May 4, to consider TBR Chancellor John Morgan’s recommendation for a new president at Tennessee Technological University and to approve the criteria for the search for a new president at Roane State Community College.

Morgan’s recommendation for TTU, which will be announced next week, follows an extensive nationwide search. A search committee comprised of campus, community, alumni and TBR representatives narrowed the list of candidates to three finalists who visited the campus for interviews. Morgan has been consulting with committee and Board members as well as state and community leaders before making his recommendation.The new TTU president will replace Bob Bell, who announced his retirement effective July 1 after leading TTU for 12 years. Current Roane State President Gary Goff announced his retirement effective Oct. 31.The meeting is open to the public and the press as listeners. Those wishing dial-in information for the call should contact Monica Greppin-Watts at or 615-366-4417 before 4:30 p.m. May 3. Anyone with a disability who wishes to participate should use the same contact to request services needed to facilitate attendance. Contact may be made in person, by writing, by e-mail, by telephone or otherwise and should be received no later than 4:30 p.m. CDT, Wednesday, May 2.The TBR is the nation’s sixth largest higher education system, governing 46 post-secondary educational institutions, including TTU. The TBR system includes six universities, 13 community colleges and 27 technology centers, providing programs in 90 of Tennessee’s 95 counties to more than 200,000 students.

The College System of Tennessee is the state’s largest public higher education system, with 13 community colleges, 27 colleges of applied technology and the online TN eCampus serving approximately 140,000 students. The system is governed by the Tennessee Board of Regents.