Dr. Carol A. Rothstein appointed President of Jackson State Community College

Dr. Carol A. Rothstein

The Tennessee Board of Regents today (Aug. 15, 2023) appointed Dr. Carol A. Rothstein as the seventh president of Jackson State Community College, effective Oct. 1.

Dr. Rothstein has served as vice president of academic affairs and workforce development at Nashville State Community College since January 2021. She previously served more than 10 years at Hagerstown Community College in Maryland and Blue Ridge Community and Technical College in West Virginia. At Hagerstown, she advanced from director of instructional support services, to acting vice president of academic affairs/associate dean of instruction, to dean of instruction. She began her higher education career in 2010 at Blue Ridge as an admissions counselor and advanced to assistant professor and director of one of the college’s branch campuses.

"Thank you to Chancellor Tydings and the Tennessee Board of Regents for this privilege. I am honored to be president of Jackson State Community College. As a first-generation high school and college student, I know first-hand the transformative power of education. Guided by this understanding, I am grateful to be able to lead Jackson State and I look forward to collaborating with faculty, staff, and valued community partners to move the college forward and positively impact the communities we serve," she said.

She earned a Doctor of Education in Leadership: Higher Education Administration at Frostburg State University, a Master of Arts in Management and Leadership, and a Bachelor of Science in Education, both at Liberty University. Her resumé is posted on the TBR website at https://www.tbr.edu/hr/executivesearches/president-jackson-state-cc.

Rothstein was one of three finalists for the presidency selected by a Search Advisory Committee composed of representatives of the Board of Regents, the college’s faculty, staff, students and alumni, and civic and business leaders from the Jackson area. TBR Chancellor Flora W. Tydings recommended her appointment to the board after reviewing feedback from public forums on the campus with all three finalists in July, conducting final interviews, and consulting with the search committee.

Regent Mark George, who chaired the search committee, made the motion to appoint Rothstein. It was seconded by Regent Kyle Spurgeon and approved unanimously by the board. Board Vice Chair Emily J. Reynolds and Regent Nisha Powers also served on the search committee.

Rothstein will succeed Dr. George Pimentel, who retired as president June 30 and now serving as associate vice chancellor for academic initiatives for the TBR system. Dr. Kimberly McCormick, TBR executive vice chancellor for external affairs, is serving as interim president.

In other action during today’s special called meeting, the board approved the search criteria for the next president of the Tennessee College of Applied Technology Dickson – the first step in the search process for the college’s next leader. Dr. Arrita Summers is retiring Dec. 1, 2023, after serving as TCAT Dickson’s president since 2014 and 30 years of service in leadership and faculty roles at TCATs Dickson, Nashville and Crump.

The criteria are included in the board materials for the meeting and are posted at the Aug. 15, 2023, meeting link below.

The board also welcomed its newest member, Student Regent Layah Garton of Sumner County, who is studying Diesel-Powered Equipment Technology at TCAT Nashville and was recently appointed by Gov. Bill Lee.

Today’s meeting was live streamed and is archived on the TBR website at https://www.tbr.edu/board/august-15-2023-special-called-board-meeting. Board materials are posted at the same link. 

The College System of Tennessee is the state’s largest public higher education system, with 13 community colleges, 24 colleges of applied technology and the online TN eCampus serving approximately 140,000 students. The system is governed by the Tennessee Board of Regents.