Five finalists selected for next president of Dyersburg State Community College. Campus visits, public forums set Oct. 27 through Nov. 2.

Search committee appointed for next president of Dyersburg State Community College

A Tennessee Board of Regents Search Advisory Committee has selected five finalists for the next president of Dyersburg State Community College. They will participate in campus visits – including forums with campus groups and the public – on Oct. 27, 28, 29 and Nov. 1, 2, the next step in the selection process.

The finalists are:

  • Dr. Scott Cook, provost of Madisonville Community College in Madisonville, Kentucky. He earned a Doctor of Education degree in Curriculum and Instruction at Tennessee State University, a Master of Liberal Studies in Humanities at Fort Hays State University, a Bachelor of Science in Political Science at Middle Tennessee State University, and an Associate of Science at Motlow State Community College.
  • Dr. Christopher A. Daniel, vice president of institutional effectiveness at Southern Crescent Technical College in Griffin, Georgia. He earned a Doctor of Education degree in Higher Education Leadership from Liberty University, a Master of Science in Career and Technical Education from Morehead State University, a Bachelor of Science in Industrial Education from Morehead State, and an Associate of Arts from Prestonsburg Community College.
  • Dr. David Forester, vice president of administrative services/chief financial officer at Halifax Community College in Weldon, North Carolina. He earned a Doctor of Education degree in Organization Leadership from Gardner-Webb University, a Master of Accountancy from the University of South Carolina, and a Bachelor in Business Administration from the University of South Carolina.
  • Dr. Youlanda Jones, president of the Tennessee College of Applied Technology at Covington, Ripley and Newbern. She earned a Doctor of Education degree in Leadership and Policy Studies, Master of Arts in Strategic Leadership, and a Bachelor of Business Administration in Management, all from the University of Memphis.
  • Dr. Jan Reid-Bunch, vice president of Dyersburg State Community College. She earned a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Community College Leadership from Mississippi State University, a Master of Music in Vocal Performance at the University of Mississippi, and a Bachelor of Music in Vocal Performance at Mississippi University for Women.

The finalists’ resumes and information about their upcoming campus visits and other information about the search process are available for review on the Dyersburg State Community College presidential search page of the Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR)  website at

Each candidate will participate in campus tours, meetings and forums with faculty, staff, students and the public at the main campus in Dyersburg and the Jimmy Naifeh Center at Tipton County in Covington. Dr. Reid-Bunch is scheduled for Oct. 27; Dr. Daniel Oct. 28; Dr. Forester Oct. 29; Dr. Jones Nov. 1, and Dr. Cook Nov. 2.

The open forums at the Covington center are all scheduled for 8 to 9 a.m. in the auditorium of the Baptist Memorial Health Care Academic Building. The open forums at the Dyersburg campus are all scheduled for 3 to 4 p.m. in the DSCC Student Center, and will be streamed on the TBR presidential search webpage above.

After the campus visits, TBR Chancellor Flora W. Tydings will gather input from the campus communities and forums and meet with the finalists to select one candidate for nomination to the Board of Regents. The Board will appoint the next president, during a special called meeting that will be scheduled soon. Input and comments on the candidates may be submitted through an online survey that will be added to the search webpage above.

In May, Dyersburg State President Karen Bowyer announced her plans to retire effective Dec. 31 after 37 years as the College’s third president and 50 years of service in higher education.

The Board of Regents approved criteria for the next president at its June 18 quarterly meeting. The position was posted, and a 17-member Search Advisory Committee was appointed, including four members of the Board as well as representatives of the College’s students, faculty, staff and alumni, and civic and business leaders from the community.

Chaired by Regent Greg Duckett, the committee held its orientation meeting and a public forum Aug. 18. The committee spent subsequent weeks reviewing applicants and nominees before selecting the five finalists.

The President is the chief executive officer of the College. Celebrating its 52nd anniversary this year, Dyersburg State is a comprehensive, two-year public community college primarily serving seven West Tennessee counties. In addition to its home campus in Dyersburg, it has primary centers in Covington and Trenton.  Additional information can be found on the College’s website at

The College System of Tennessee is the state’s largest public higher education system, with 13 community colleges, 27 colleges of applied technology and the online TN eCampus serving approximately 140,000 students. The system is governed by the Tennessee Board of Regents.