Jackson State Community College & Murray State University provide transfer pathways for students

Dr. Larry Bailey, Dr. Allana Hamilton, Dr. Bob Jackson and Dr. Mark Arrant

Representatives from Jackson State Community College and Murray State University met at the City Hall in Paris, TN, February 18 to sign a Memorandum of Understanding establishing a partnership that will offer JSCC students a structured, guaranteed pathway for transferring to MSU.

The MOU provides a seamless transition from a JSCC associate degree program to an MSU bachelor's degree program.

Present for the signing were Dr. Allana Hamilton, President, JSCC, Dr. Larry Bailey, VP of Academic Affairs, JSCC, Dr. Robert Jackson, Interim President, Murray State University, and Dr. Mark Arant, Provost and VP for Academic Affairs, Murray State University.

The partnership between the two institutions will provide an opportunity for students to save money and avoid costly student loans by enrolling for their first two years at a community college with lower tuition and fees and the ability to take advantage of state incentives available such as Tennessee Promise and Tennessee Reconnect.

Jackson State began offering classes at the Central Community Service Center on Jones Bend Road in January 2017. Since that time, total enrollment for the Paris location has grown to approximately 80 with a full-time site coordinator being hired in August 2018.

"We are excited about this partnership," said Dr. Allana Hamilton, JSCC president. "This agreement further reinforces Jackson State's commitment by providing greater access to higher education in the counties in North West Tennessee."

"Providing strategic pathways to educational fulfillment while furthering career development opportunities for individuals in our region is critical," said Dr. Bob Jackson, Murray State University Interim President. "This partnership with Jackson State Community College will do just that as we look forward to this collaboration between both institutions impacting many students."

The College System of Tennessee is the state’s largest public higher education system, with 13 community colleges, 27 colleges of applied technology and the online TN eCampus serving approximately 140,000 students. The system is governed by the Tennessee Board of Regents.