Northeast State Theatre earns multiple awards, nominations for 2019 shows

Submitted by: 
Northeast State Community College
"Animal Farm" scene at Northeast State

Northeast State Community College's Theatre Department racked up a slew of awards and nominations for two plays staged during the past year.

The productions of Animal Farm and Dark Rituals proved great successes for students and alumni contributing their talents to both plays. Proctors from Region IV of the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF) seemed to be duly impressed. The Festival recognized the work with three awards to faculty/staff members and 13 total award nominations to students. This year marked the largest number of award nominations ever for the department.

A proctor from KCACTF Region IV attended performances of Animal Farm and Dark Rituals to review the student and faculty work on the productions.  The plays’ quality was graded and considered for nominations to the regional competition.

“I am forever in awe of the work our students put forth for the shows,” said Elizabeth M. Sloan, associate professor and director of Northeast State Theatre.  “They balance school, work, family, friends, and all the while give their all to make sure the show is great.”

Two Northeast State faculty members earned awards for their work. Director of Theatre Elizabeth Sloan won the Meritorious Achievement Award for Excellence in Directing for Animal Farm. Theatre’s technical director Brad McKenzie won the Meritorious Achievement Award for Excellence in Lighting Design for Animal Farm.  Northeast State alumnus and previous KCACTF award-winner Richard Curtis also received the Meritorious Achievement Award for Excellence in Scenic Design for his creative work on Animal Farm.

Animal Farm cast and crewmembers receiving KCACTF nominations for their work are:

  • Northeast alumni Gavin Strawn and Jordan Davis earned Irene Ryan Acting Award nominations.
  • Northeast State alumna Rebecca Hopson picked up a nomination for Stage Management.
  • Fellow alumna Ollie Skeens received a nomination in the category of Costume Design.
  • Student and NST production veteran Jonathan Proctor earned a nomination for Sound Design.
  • NST veteran and alumna Kenzie Sawtelle received a Barbizon Design Nomination for Masks work.

Cast and crew members receiving KCACTF nominations for their work on Dark Rituals are:

  • Students Braiden Smith and Allen Lopez both garnered Irene Ryan Acting Award nominations.
  • Student Matthew Parvin received a nomination for Stage Management.
  • Ollie Skeens picked up another nomination in the category of Costume Design.
  • Alumna and previous KCACTF award nominee Shelby Ashley earned a nomination for Lighting Design.
  • Sarah Slagle earned not one, but two Barbizon Design Award nominations: the first for Prop Design and the second in the Hair & Makeup category.

Nominees get invited to submit their work to the KCACTF’s Region IV competition held this year from Feb. 4th to 8th at the University of South Carolina Upstate in Valley Falls, S.C. The adjudicated competition recognizes the best theatre work of two- and four-year colleges across the Southeast.

“Theatre is a service industry. Our students know that it is not about them as individuals but all of them working towards serving the audience,” said Sloan. “I am incredibly proud of the growth and their work.”

The Northeast State Theatre Department continues to impress audiences and theatre professionals with its work. The department’s upcoming production of The Giver opens April 2nd at 7:30 p.m. in the Regional Center for the Performing Arts Theatre.