TTU Presidential Search Advisory Committee Named; First Meeting, Open Forum Scheduled Feb. 17

The Search Advisory Committee members for a new president of Tennessee Technological University have been selected and will meet for the first time in February following a public forum about the search process.

The advisory committee will meet Friday, Feb. 17, in the TTU University Center MultiPurpose Room. The meeting will begin at 12:45 p.m. CST. Campus and community members are also invited to an open forum to discuss the search process for the new president from 11 a.m. – noon in the same location.

The search committee’s charge is to identify three to five finalists for the position of president who will visit the campus for interviews. Tennessee Board of Regents Chancellor John Morgan will then consult with members of the committee and make a final selection for submission to the TBR for approval.

The committee will work with executive search firm Greenwood/Asher & Associates, contracted by the TBR to help identify a broad range of highly qualified candidates. One of the committee’s first tasks at the meeting will be to decide on a schedule and process for selecting the finalists. Initial screenings of applicants is expected to begin in late March. Current President Bob Bell has announced his retirement effective June 30, 2012.

The committee members are as follows:

Ms. Emily Reynolds, ChairTBR BOARD MEMBERSenior Vice President, Government RelationsTennessee Valley AuthorityNashville, TN Dr. John (Steve) Copeland, DVMTBR BOARD MEMBERCopeland Veterinary HospitalCookeville, TN Mr. Lee GattsSGA PRESIDENT/TBR STUDENT REGENTTennessee Tech UniversityCookeville, TNMr. Julius JohnsonTBR BOARD MEMBERCommissionerTennessee Department of AgricultureNashville, TN Mr. Robert P. (Bob) ThomasTBR BOARD MEMBERBradley Arant Boult CummingsNashville, TNDr. Corinne DarvennesFACULTY REPRESENTATIVEFaculty SenateProfessor of Engineering Tennessee Tech UniversityCookeville, TNDr. Carl Owens FACULTY REPRESENTATIVEProfessor of EducationTennessee Tech UniversityCookeville, TN Dr. Jeff RobertsFACULTY REPRESENTATIVEPresident, Faculty SenateChair and Professor of HistoryTennessee Tech UniversityCookeville, TN Dr. Paul SemmesFACULTY REPRESENTATIVEDean, College of Arts and Sciences Tennessee Tech UniversityCookeville, TN Ms. Ashley HumphreySTUDENT REPRESENTATIVETreasurer, Student Government AssociationTennessee Tech UniversityCookeville, TN Ms. Morgen CuppSTUDENT REPRESENTATIVEGraduate AssistantTennessee Tech UniversityCookeville, TN Mr. Nathan BurtonALUMNI REPRESENTATIVEDirector of Business Services for Tennessee Secretary of State Tre HargettNashville, TN Ms. Kaye Loftis SUPPORT STAFF REPRESENTATIVEChair of Staff Advisory CommitteeDepart of Military ScienceTennessee Tech UniversityCookeville, TN Mr. Marc Burnett ADMINISTRATIVE REPRESENTATIVEVice President for Student AffairsTennessee Tech UniversityCookeville, TN Mr. Joe AlbrechtBUSINESS COMMUNITY REPRESENTATIVEPresidentAlbrecht Consulting, Inc.Cookeville, TNMrs. Jean Davis COMMUNITY-AT-LARGE REPRESENTATIVEFormer Mayor of CookevilleCookeville, TN Mr. Steve RainsCOMMUNITY-AT-LARGE REPRESENTATIVEVice President, TTU Foundation Jamestown, TN Mr. John RoseCOMMUNITY-AT-LARGE REPRESENTATIVEPresident, TTU Foundation Hickman, TN All meetings of the presidential search advisory committee are open to the press and the public as observers. More information on the presidential search process, including the criteria for selection, can be found at under the “Quick Links” section.The Tennessee Board of Regents is the nation’s sixth largest higher education system, governing 46 post-secondary educational institutions. The TBR system includes six universities (including TTU), 13 two-year colleges and 27 technology centers, providing programs in 90 of Tennessee’s 95 counties to more than 200,000 students.

The College System of Tennessee is the state’s largest public higher education system, with 13 community colleges, 27 colleges of applied technology and the online TN eCampus serving approximately 140,000 students. The system is governed by the Tennessee Board of Regents.