On Campus

URL Alias: 
Anonymous's picture

NIH gives MTSU nearly $400K for more treadmill research

For three years, Middle Tennessee State University’s exercise science experts have worked wonders with people who suffer from incomplete spinal cord injuries.

Now the National Institutes of Health is giving them an opportunity that could change the way health professionals treat these patients, who retain some preservation of sensation or motor function at the lowest segment of the spinal cord.

Anonymous's picture

Columbia State Breaks Ground on Williamson Campus

Photo Caption: Pictured, left to right: Rogers Anderson, Williamson County mayor; Don Webb, Williamson Medical Center CEO; John Morgan, Tennessee Board of Regents chancellor; Rep. Charles Sargent; Dr. Janet F. Smith, Columbia State president; Dr. Ken Moore, Franklin mayor; Marty Schweinhart, Community Health Systems executive vice president of administration; Corinne Bergeron, Jackson National Life corporate social responsibility manager; and Barry White, Columbia State Foundation chair. Photo credit: Sarah B. Gilliam  
Anonymous's picture

Dr. Daryl A. Carter named associate editor of 'Critical Conversations'

Dr. Daryl A. Carter named associate editor of 'Critical Conversations'

JOHNSON CITY (July 16, 2014) – An East Tennessee State University history professor is the associate editor of a forthcoming new journal that is expected to play a role in shaping state economic policy and drawing students and faculty to universities and colleges in Tennessee.

Anonymous's picture

TTU President Oldham honored with TCPRA’s Otis Floyd Award

Tennessee Tech University President Phil Oldham recently was honored by the Tennessee College Public Relations Association with the Dr. Otis Floyd Jr. Award, presented annually to a higher education administrator in Tennessee to recognize superior achievement in innovation, leadership, vision and communication.

Known for his vision, understanding and integrity, Floyd was the first African‐American chancellor of the State Board of Regents for Tennessee and former president of Tennessee State University.

Anonymous's picture

TTU takes part in national Day of Making

Tennessee Tech University takes part in a White House celebration today for the first-ever national Day of Making. You can check out all the activities at http://www.whitehouse.gov/maker-faire

Read President Oldham's letter on behalf of TTU here.

America has always been a nation of inventors and entrepreneurs, and as everyday citizens and scientists gain access to new technologies like 3D printers, design software and desktop machine tools, we are seeing the rise of the Maker Movement.

Anonymous's picture

Columbia State Receives Grant to Expand Distance Learning

Photo Caption: Pictured: Row one, left to right: Barry White, Columbia State Foundation chair; Dr. Margaret Smith, Columbia State executive vice president and provost for academic and student programs and services; Dr. Janet F. Smith, Columbia State president; Bobby Goode, USDA – Rural Development state director; Faye McEwen, USDA – Rural Development area director; Carl S. Cooper, Chapel Hill mayor; Rebecca Moon, director of casework for Rep. Scott DesJarlais; and Waymon L. Hickman, Columbia State Foundation honorary trustee.
Anonymous's picture

TSU Goes Digital with Book Bundle Initiative

Effort aims to reduce high cost of traditional textbooks


Incoming freshman students demonstrate book bundle, a digital cost-saving textbook initiative at Tennessee State University, to TBR Chancellor John Morgan during the Board’s recent quarterly meeting at the University. (photo by Emmanuel Freeman, TSU Media Relations)


NASHVILLE, Tenn. (TSU News Service) – Tennessee State University will be on the digital cutting edge this fall semester when it begins offering electronic books as part of a book-bundle initiative aimed at lowering the cost of traditional “paper” books.

Anonymous's picture

Students unearth history at MTSU Archaeological Field School

EAGLEVILLE, Tennessee — The MTSU Archaeological Field School has taken the classroom outdoors for the last six weeks, keeping students hoping for breezes and wearing extra sunscreen as they dig and learn at a site in the rolling hills of western Rutherford County.

At a special event June 24 at the Magnolia Valley property near Eagleville, about 20 miles west of the MTSU campus, Dr. Tanya Peres, an associate professor of anthropology at MTSU, and her students welcomed more guests to learn about the field school and even try a bit of digging themselves.

Anonymous's picture

EPA Program to Engage Tennessee State University Students in Community-Based Environmental Health

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (TSU News Service) –The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has selected Tennessee State University for a program that will actively engage its students in initiatives that protect local residents from toxic air releases.

A release from the agency named TSU and five other institutions nationwide as “academic partners” for the 2014 Toxic Release Inventory University Challenge. The Challenge is designed to find innovative ways to increase public awareness of industrial release of toxic chemicals in communities around the country.


Subscribe to RSS - On Campus