Minimum Qualifications

  • Teaching a Course with a TBR Designated HIP. Faculty who have been or are currently using the HIP for multiple courses over a sustained period of time are preferred.

  • Engagement with TBR Sponsored Faculty Learning for HIPs. Faculty who have attended one or more of the annual HIP Conferences, participated in TBR sponsored webinars, or have participated in grant sponsored pilot work are preferred.

  • Passionate for Collaborative Learning with Faculty Across Institutions within the TBR System. Faculty who have previous experience mentoring or collaborating with colleagues both within and outside their institution are encouraged to apply.

  • Eager and willing to Share Professional Expertise on the Designated HIP with Other Faculty. Faculty who are excited about the purposeful and intentional implementation of HIPs, have some documented success and believe in sharing evidence-based practices across institutions.

  • Committed to Continuing Professional Learning on the Designated HIP to Stay Current with Best Practices. Faculty, regardless of expertise level of HIPs designated engagements, who are willing to devote time learning more about the craft of high impact practices are encouraged to apply.

Requirements

  • Attend an orientation program where expectations of the role and an overview of the HIP Initiative at TBR will be covered. (4 hr commitment)

  • Host a minimum of 4 virtual faculty convenings a year where faculty who are engaged in and/or interested in implementing the designated HIP share evidence-based practices and network. (4 hr commitment)

  • Serve as a resource and point of contact to faculty systemwide who are looking to implement the designated HIP.

 

Nomination Process

In the late fall, an online application is made available. A letter of support from a senior administrator at the home institution verifying that minimum qualifications are met by the nominee is also required. Nominations are evaluated by an internal committee for final selection decisions.

Monthly Connection Calls

Indicate your interest in joining a monthy call on this interest page.

*Times listed below are in Central Standard Time.

Certifications
March 23, Noon: Getting Started
April 11, 1 p.m.: Roundtable

First Year Experience/Seminars
Feb. 28, 12 p.m.: FYE Roundtable
April 11, 12 p.m.: Cultivating Social Belonging in the Classroom

Global/Cultural Awareness
March 21, 2 p.m.: Roundtable
April 18, 1 p.m.: Workshop on Global Cultural Awareness

Honors Education
February 28, 12 p.m.: It would be our honor...to have lunch with you: Honors Roundtable, Bringing HIPs to Community Colleges 
April 22, 12 p.m.: Sprouting New Ideas: Planting and Tending to Your Honors Program

Learning Communities
Feb. 28: Roundtable Discussion
April 18, 10 a.m.: PDF icon Collaborative Learning

Service Learning
Feb. Podcast: Service-Learning Statewide: Why It's Important and How We work Together to Make It Happen
Featuring Kelly Ormsby, TN Service Learning Consortium Chair
March Podcast: Service-Learning Defined
March 30, Noon: Monthly Call
April Podcast: Planning for Service Learning 
April 27, Noon: Monthly Call

Study Abroad
Feb. 22, 9 a.m.: On the Road Again: A Study Abroad "How To"
April 13, 2:30 p.m.: Roam Around the World: Incorporating Virtual Study Abroad in the Classroom

Technology Enhanced Learning
Feb. 16, 2-3:30 p.m.Topic: Increasing Student Engagement Through the Use of Technology
Feb. 17, 10-11:30 a.m.Topic: Increasing Student Engagement Through the Use of Technology
Feb. 28, 6-7:30 p.m. Topic: Increasing Student Engagement Through the Use of Technology
March 18, 11-12 p.m. Topic: Tactics 101: How to be HIP in Your Teaching
April 21, 3-5 p.m.  Topic: What it takes to code your course as a High Impact Practice (HIP) 
April 22, 12-2 p.m. Topic: What it takes to code your course as a High Impact Practice (HIP)

Undergraduate Research
Feb. 24, 2 p.m. Topic: An Overview of Research HIP Options
March 14, 10-11 a.m. Topic :General Roundtable
March 24, 2 p.m. Topic: Developing an Undergraduate Research Course
April 15, 10-11 a.m. Topic: Planning a Research Symposium
April 28, 2 p.m. Topic: Embedding Research HIP in On-Ground and Online Courses

Work-Based Learning
March 3, 10 a.m.: How to Get HIP with Work Based Learning
April 12, 10 a.m.: Topic TBA

Upcoming Systemwide HIP Events

To be scheduled

HIP Ambassador Class of 2022

Debbie Simpson - Certifications

Motlow State
dsimpson@mscc.edu
615-220-7882

Tammie Bolling - Certifications

Pellissippi State
tbolling@pstcc.edu
423-592-0263

Lauren Jordan - First Year Seminars/Experience

Pellissippi State
lmjordan@pstcc.edu
865-971-5226

 

Nancy Hamilton - First-Year Seminars/Experience

Roane State
hamiltonnl@roanestate.edu
865-354-3000 ext 4261

Nona Shepherd - Global/Cultural Awareness

Oakley Atterson - Global/Cultural Awareness

Pellissippi State
ajatterson@pstcc.edu
Phone

Sara Amato - Honors Education

Cleveland State
samato@clevelandstatecc.edu
423-473-2304

Tabetha Garman - Honors Education

Northeast State
tjgarman@northeaststate.edu
423-354-5180

Andrea Green - Learning Communities

Motlow State
agreen@mscc.edu
615-220-7947

Ryan Stembridge - Learning Communities

Southwest Tennessee
rtstembridge@southwest.tn.edu
901-333-4256
 

Tracey Farr - Service Learning

Pellissippi State
tefarr@pstcc.edu
865-329-3136

Angie Elkins - Service Learning

Walters State
angie.elkins@ws.edu
423-585-2649

Anna Esquivel - Study Abroad

Jackson State
aesquivel@jscc.edu
731-424-3520, ext. 50217

Lacey Benns - Study Abroad

Columbia State
lbenns@columbiastate.edu
931-540-2875

Charles Whiting - Technology Enhanced Learning

Motlow State
cwhiting@mscc.edu
615-220-7948

Raquel Adams - Technology Enhanced Learning

Southwest Tennessee
radams11@southwest.tn.edu
901-333-5173

Elvira Eivazova - Undergraduate Research

Columbia State
eeivazova@columbiastate.edu
931-540-2693

Eric Niemi - Undergraduate Research

Chattanooga State
eric.niemi@chattanoogastate.edu
423-697-3170

Sandy Kirby - Work-Based Learning

Cleveland State
skirby03@clevelandstatecc.edu
423-473-2288

Walter McCord - Work-Based Learning

Motlow State
wmccord@mscc.edu
615-220-7888