Minimum Qualifications for NEW Applicants

  • Teaching a Course with a TBR Designated HIP. Faculty who have been or are currently using the HIP for multiple courses over a sustained period of time are preferred.

  • Engagement with TBR Sponsored Faculty Learning for HIPs. Faculty who have attended one or more of the annual HIP Conferences, participated in TBR sponsored webinars, or have participated in grant sponsored pilot work are preferred.

  • Passionate for Collaborative Learning with Faculty Across Institutions within the TBR System. Faculty who have previous experience mentoring or collaborating with colleagues both within and outside their institution are encouraged to apply.

  • Eager and willing to Share Professional Expertise on the Designated HIP with Other Faculty. Faculty who are excited about the purposeful and intentional implementation of HIPs, have some documented success and believe in sharing evidence-based practices across institutions.

  • Committed to Continuing Professional Learning on the Designated HIP to Stay Current with Best Practices. Faculty, regardless of expertise level of HIPs designated engagements, who are willing to devote time learning more about the craft of high impact practices are encouraged to apply.

Requirements

  • Attend an orientation program where expectations of the role and an overview of the HIP Initiative at TBR will be covered. (6 hr commitment)

  • Host a minimum of 4 virtual faculty convenings a year where faculty who are engaged in and/or interested in implementing the designated HIP share evidence-based practices and network. (4 hr commitment)

  • Serve as a resource and point of contact to faculty systemwide who are looking to implement the designated HIP.

 

Nomination Process

Every October, an online application is made available for NEW and RETURNING applicants. An online application is required for both types of applicants.

For new applications, a letter of support from a senior administrator or a current HIP Ambassador verifying that minimum qualifications are met by the nominee is also required. Recommendation letters should speak to the specific experience of the faculty member in working with HIPs and the faculty member's qualifications to serve as a mentor and advocate to other faculty for the inclusion of HIPs in the curriculum.

Nominations are evaluated by an internal committee for final selection decisions. New Ambassador Applicants have the option to serve a two-year term as long as program requirements are met.

2023 NEW Ambassador Applicants - Due Friday, November 18, 2022

New applicants should fill out the online application form here.

 

2023 Returning Ambassador Applicants - Due Friday, November 18, 2022

Current HIP Ambassadors who wish to return for a second year, must fill out the online application form here.

Monthly Connection Calls

Indicate your interest in joining a monthy call on this interest page.

*Times listed below are in Central Standard Time.

Fall 2022 Schedule

  • Certifications: Sept. 16 @ 1 p.m. and Oct. 24 @ 1 p.m.
    •    Sept. 16 Topic: I have found my certifications: What do I do now?
    •    Oct. 24 Topic: Matching LO's to certification exam
  • First Year Seminar/Experience: Sept. 19 and Nov. 14 @ Noon
  • Honors: Sept. 28 @ 11 a.m. and Oct. 12 @ 11 a.m.
    •    Sept. 28 Topic: Honors Marketing/Recruiting
  • Learning Communities: Sept. 23 @ 9:30 and Nov. 2 @ 9 a.m.
  • Service Learning: Sept. 23 @ 11:30 a.m. and Oct. 20 @ 9:30 a.m.
  • Study Abroad: Sept. 14 @ 2:30 p.m. and Nov. 11 @ 10 a.m.
  • Technology Enhanced Learning: Sept. 9 @ 8 a.m. NE State TEL Workshop (to be recorded);
    •    Sept. 28 @ 3 p.m.
    •    Oct. 6 @ 2 p.m.; Oct. 13 @ 6 p.m.; Oct. 26 @ 3 p.m.
    •    Nov. 3 @ 10 a.m.; Nov. 4 @ 2 p.m.; Nov. 10 @ 10 a.m.; Nov. 14 @ 6 p.m.
  • Undergraduate Research: Sept. 30 @ 10 a.m.; Dec. 9 @ 12 p.m.
  • Work-based Learning: Sept. 29 and Oct. 27 @ 10 a.m.

Upcoming Systemwide HIP Events

To be scheduled

HIP Ambassador Class of 2022

Debbie Simpson - Certifications

Motlow State
dsimpson@mscc.edu
615-220-7882

Tammie Bolling - Certifications

Pellissippi State
tbolling@pstcc.edu
423-592-0263

Lauren Jordan - First Year Seminars/Experience

Pellissippi State
lmjordan@pstcc.edu
865-971-5226

 

Nancy Hamilton - First-Year Seminars/Experience

Roane State
hamiltonnl@roanestate.edu
865-354-3000 ext 4261

Nona Shepherd - Global/Cultural Awareness

Oakley Atterson - Global/Cultural Awareness

Pellissippi State
ajatterson@pstcc.edu
Phone

Sara Amato - Honors Education

Cleveland State
samato@clevelandstatecc.edu
423-473-2304

Tabetha Garman - Honors Education

Northeast State
tjgarman@northeaststate.edu
423-354-5180

Andrea Green - Learning Communities

Motlow State
agreen@mscc.edu
615-220-7947

Ryan Stembridge - Learning Communities

Southwest Tennessee
rtstembridge@southwest.tn.edu
901-333-4256
 

Tracey Farr - Service Learning

Pellissippi State
tefarr@pstcc.edu
865-329-3136

Angie Elkins - Service Learning

Walters State
angie.elkins@ws.edu
423-585-2649

Anna Esquivel - Study Abroad

Jackson State
aesquivel@jscc.edu
731-424-3520, ext. 50217

Lacey Benns - Study Abroad

Columbia State
lbenns@columbiastate.edu
931-540-2875

Charles Whiting - Technology Enhanced Learning

Motlow State
cwhiting@mscc.edu
615-220-7948

Raquel Adams - Technology Enhanced Learning

Southwest Tennessee
radams11@southwest.tn.edu
901-333-5173

Elvira Eivazova - Undergraduate Research

Columbia State
eeivazova@columbiastate.edu
931-540-2693

Eric Niemi - Undergraduate Research

Chattanooga State
eric.niemi@chattanoogastate.edu
423-697-3170

Sandy Kirby - Work-Based Learning

Cleveland State
skirby03@clevelandstatecc.edu
423-473-2288

Walter McCord - Work-Based Learning

Motlow State
wmccord@mscc.edu
615-220-7888