Skip to:

Office of Student Success

Tennessee Service-Learning Consortium

TN-SLC Purpose Statement

The Tennessee Service Learning Consortium (TN-SLC) is a non-profit membership association of colleges and universities committed to promoting active citizenship as an aim of higher education. The TN-SLC will serve as a key partner to other state efforts in creating solutions for higher education challenges of access, equity, and accountability while promoting engaged citizenship. Founded by institutional service learning representatives across the state, the TN-SLC provides leadership in advocating, supporting, and increasing student involvement in academic and co-curricular-based public service. The TN-SLC aims to strengthen the capacity of member institutions to serve society; to enhance student learning; and to develop in individual students the knowledge, values, skills, and habits of civic responsibility and democratic participation.

Membership is open to any nationally or regionally accredited two- or four-year higher education institution, graduate, or professional school in the State of Tennessee. The Advisory Board may choose to permit other memberships from K-12 schools, chambers of commerce, state agencies, non-profit organizations, community-based organizations, faith-based organizations, foundations, and private corporations. Entities interested in associating with the TN-SLC that do not meet membership criteria may be included as affiliated partners.

Benefits to members include:

  • regional faculty service-learning curriculum integration training
  • professional development forums, conferences, and workshops
  • in-state resource sharing
  • access to the TN-SLC website, listserv, and speakers’ bureau
  • state-level legislative advocacy and coordination of Day on the Hill activities
  • annual statewide survey statistics
  • economic impact analyses
  • program audit reviews

Click HERE to become a member!

Advisory Board Members

Position Candidate Institution
Chair Carol Swayze Middle Tennessee State University
Chair-Elect Teresa Brooks Taylor East Tennessee State University
Secretary Xiaoping Wang Northeast State Community College
Treasurer Mechel Camp Jackson State Community College
Public 4 Year Representative Bengt Carlson University of Tennessee - Chattanooga
Private Representative Chad Williams Carson-Newman University
Public 2 Year Representative Donna Seagle Chattanooga State Community College
Institutional President Jerry Faulkner Volunteer State Community College
















TN- SLC ByLaws

File TN-SLC ByLaws

2017 Meetings & Conferences

Regional HIP Drive-Ins

  • Middle TN : October 2 @ TBR System Office
  • East TN: October 4 @ Walters State Community College
  • West TN: October 6 @ Southwest TN Community College

Fall General Membership Meeting: November 1, 2017; 10:30 a.m. CT @ TBR System Office

2018 Meetings & Conferences

Statewide Faculty Service Learning Track at Volunteer TN Conference

Spring General Membership Meeting: April 11, 2018; 10:30 a.m. CT @ TBR System Office

Speakers Bureau

 link to come