Student Government Association Presidents

About the Group   

The Student Government Presidents' Council Advisory Board is an organization whose membership consists of the student government association president or student leadership organization representative from each Tennessee public postsecondary institution. The Student Presidents Council Advisory Board meets three times during the academic year, typically in October, January and March. The Student Presidents group reviews and discusses pertinent statewide and campus-related issues of interest to students. The Board also provides an opportunity for networking, sharing successes, seeking solutions and supplementing leadership development for the Student Presidents.

At the spring meeting, as required by state statute, the TBR Student Presidents meet separately to select three applicants’ names for submission to the Governor as nominees for Student Regent. The selected appointee serves a one-year term. The TBR Student Presidents also select three nominees for the position of Tennessee Higher Education Commission (THEC) Student Representative each fall. The THEC Student Representative is a one-year appointment made by the Governor. The THEC Student Representative serves as a non-voting member during the first year and as a voting member during the second year of service.

2023-2024 Executive Board

Chair: Reverie Meadows - Volunteer State Community College
Vice-Chair: Jayden Crawford - Dyersburg State Community College
Secretary: Sasha Erickson - Columbia State Community College

University Liaison: position currently open
Community College Liaison: Michael Dowsey, Pellissippi State Community College
TCAT Liaison: Rose Thompson - TCAT Pulaski

For questions, contact the Director of Student Initiatives, Kristina Krau-Waymire.

SGA Presidents Annual Retreat Information

Members of the Student Government Presidents Council are invited to participate in the annual Tennessee Leadership Training Institute each fall, at the start of each school year. Each council can send two SGA members to network with other campus leadership, learn about TN public higher education, and build leadership skills relevant to their role as a student body leaders. Information about this year's retreat can be found HERE.