Skip to:

Tennessee Board of Regents

Board Members

The composition of the Tennessee Board of Regents is set forth in Tennessee Code Annotated 49-8-201. The board consists of 19 members: 12 lay citizens appointed for six-year terms by the governor, with one each from the state's nine congressional districts and three grand divisions; two faculty members from among the system institutions appointed by the governor for a two-year term; one student from among the system institutions appointed by the governor for a one-year term; and four ex-officio members--the Governor of Tennessee, the Commissioner of Education, the Commissioner of Agriculture, and the Executive Director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission, who is a non-voting member.

Bill Haslam

Governor Bill Haslam Ex-Officio Regent Governor of the State of Tennessee Nashville, TN More Information

Emily J. Reynolds, Vice Chair

Emily Reynolds 5th Congressional District More Information

Candice McQueen

Candice McQueen Ex-Officio Regent Commissioner of Education Nashville, TN More Information

Jai Templeton

Ex-Officio Regent Commissioner of Agriculture Nashville, TN More Information

Mike Krause

Ex-Officio Regent Executive Director at Tennessee Higher Education Commission Nashville, TN More Information

Thomas A. H. White

At-Large, East Unum Group More Information

Leigh A. Shockey

Leigh Shockey At-Large, West Drexel Chemical Company Memphis, TN More Information

Larry Autry

Regent Larry Autry Faculty Regent TCAT Ripley More Information

Jeremy Mitchell

Student Regent TCAT Pulaski More Information

Miles A. Burdine

1st Congressional District Kingsport Chamber of Commerce More Information

Danni B. Varlan

Varlan 2nd Congressional District East Tennessee Children's Hospital Knoxville, TN More Information

Tom Griscom

Tom Griscom 3rd Congressional District Media and Communications Consultant Chattanooga, TN More Information

Fran Marcum

At-Large, Middle Relevance Capital Tullahoma, TN More Information

Yolanda S. Greene

4th Congressional District First Tennessee Bank More Information

MaryLou Apple

6th Congressional District Tullahoma, TN More Information

Joey Hatch

7th Congressional District Skanska USA Building Inc. Nashville, TN More Information

Barbara U. Prescott

Barbara Prescott 8th Congressional District PeopleFirst Partnership Memphis, TN More Information

Greg Duckett

Greg Duckett 9th Congressional District Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation Memphis, TN More Information

William Summons

Faculty Regent (Non-Voting) Southwest Community College More Information